University Relations Office

University of Wisconsin-Superior

Belknap and Catlin
P.O. Box 2000
Superior, WI 54880

ph. 715-394-8260

University News News/Events via RSS Feed Subscribe University News News/Events via Email Updates.Follow Us at facebook.comFollow Us at twitter.comFollow Us at flickr.comFollow Us at

University News

News and Events Details

UW-Superior TRiO programs honor top students and tutors for 2013-14 excellence

Posted on Jul 11, 2014
Climbing the Ladder To Success: TRiO Awards for 2013-14 at UW-Superior.
click to enlarge
Pictured from left to right in the photo, some of the 2013-14  TRiO Award winners:  Aaron Anders, William Lightbody, Kristen Johnson, Debbie Cheslock and Erin Montgomery.

Pictured from left to right in the photo, some of the 2013-14 TRiO Award winners: Aaron Anders, William Lightbody, Kristen Johnson, Debbie Cheslock and Erin Montgomery.

Outstanding students and tutors in the University of Wisconsin-Superior student support programs were honored at the university's annual TRiO Award Day in the Jim Dan Hill Library.  Dr. Eleni Pinnow was the keynote speaker at the program.

TRiO programs at UW-Superior provide qualified students with the necessary assistance to achieve their educational goals. They include Student Support Services, which provides tutoring and assistance to qualifying students; Upward Bound, which helps Superior High School students prepare for college; and the McNair Scholars program, which prepares first-generation college students and students from under-represented groups for graduate study.

Those receiving awards on April 11 this year included:

Academic Support Center Tutor of the Year - Kristen Johnson was recognized for her efforts working with students. She has the unique ability to help students understand the complexities of the subject in a relaxed and comfortable manner.

Academic Support Center Student of the Year - Sharon Williams was recognized for the numerous hours she has spent in the Academic Support Center and for her dedication to her academic success.

Math Lab Tutor of the Year - Aaron Anders for his assistance in helping students understand and improve in math.

Math Lab Student of the Year - William Lightbody for his outstanding math work while in the Math Lab.

McNair Scholars Program-- Scholar of the Year - Debbie Cheslock, a sociology major from Duluth, Minn.  Debbie was chosen because of her work ethic.  She came into the program in April and she was caught up with all of her work by May. She is a graduate student at UW-Superior.

McNair Scholars Program-- Scholar of the Year -  Benjamin Roob, Northland College, meteorology major from Port Washington, Wis.  Benjamin was honored because he was always on time with deadlines, came to all of the summer classes, was energetic, and completed every aspect of McNair.  He was dedicated to pursuing his education after completing his Bachelor's degree at Northland College.  He will be attending St. Cloud State in the fall.

Upward Bound Tutor of the Year - Erin Montgomery, a criminal justice major from Superior, Wis. was honored for her willingness to take on tasks and for her support of Upward Bound students in their educational goals and personal relationships and was a mentor to many.  She has spent five semesters with the Upward Bound program.

Upward Bound Students of the Year - Anna Kirkwood and Madison Adolphson both from Superior High School were honored for preparation, decision making skills, and for their initiative within the program.  They have demonstrated extraordinary drive, commitment to self and community, while juggling many obligations their senior year.  Kirkwood will be attending UW-Eau Claire next fall and Adolphson attending Hamline University.

UW-Superior Foundation Gulland Scholarship Recipient - Jeremy Rowe, currently attending UW-Superior was recognized for his commitment to his education and for his openness to better himself by taking advantage of the resources available.  He receives a $1,000 scholarship from the UW-Superior Foundation and is an Upward Bound alumnus.

TRiO Achiever Award for Outstanding Faculty and Staff - Lon Bagley, Program Manager & Testing Coordinator was honored for his work on several occasions helping and assisting students by going above and beyond expectations to meet the needs of students.

News Contact: Tom Hansen | 715-394-8260 | thansen7{atuws}
News 1616816Top of Page

Back to Top