Wisconsin's Public Liberal Arts College

Experts listed alphabetically


University Relations

Experts listed alphabetically

A


Harry Anderson       
Acting Director of Campus Recreation
Campus Recreation Office

Expertise: UW-Superior campus recreation programs and recreation facilities

 handerso@uwsuper.edu

Campus telephone: (715) 395-4652

 


B

Dr. William Bajjali
Professor of hydrogeology
Department of Natural Sciences

Expertise:

  • Hydrogeology
  • Groundwater contamination
  • Water quality
  • Isotope hydrology
  • GIS Applications in Water Resources

 wbajjali@uwsuper.edu

Campus telephone: (715) 394-8056  

Website

 

Chip Beal
Diversity coordinator
Assistant professor of First Nations Studies

Expertise: Diversity (racial and cultural); American Indians

 abeal@uwsuper.edu

Telephone: 715-394-8297

Cell phone: 218-428-2325

 

Dr. Sergei Bezroukov
Professor
Department of Mathematics and Computer Science

Expertise: Discrete mathematics, theoretical computer science, microcontrollers, hardware and software development

 ebezruko@uwsuper.edu

Telephone: 715-394-8523

 

Kay Biga
Assistant Professor of Management and Business Law
Department of Business and Economics

Expertise: Business Law, Business Ethics and Small Business Management

 kbiga@uwsuper.edu

Telephone: (218) 390-6507

 

Dr. Pamela Bustos
Director of Bands, Department of Music

Expertise: Music 

 pbustos@uwsuper.edu

Campus telephone:715-394-8509


C

Tim Cleary
Associate Professor, Department of Visual Arts

Expertise:  Visual arts  

tcleary@uwsuper.edu

Campus telephone: 715-394-8391

 

Dr. Maria Stalzer Wyant Cuzzo
Professor of Legal Studies
Director of Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning

Expertise:  Law, mediation and conflict resolution

mcuzzo@uwsuper.edu

Campus telephone:  715-394-8482

Cell phone: 218-591-8488 


D

Dr. Nicholas Danz
Assistant Professor of Botany, Department of Natural Sciences

Expertise:  Plants, ecology, forest ecology and management, Lake Superior coastal region 

Telephone: 715-394-8161

ndanz@uwsuper.edu



Dr. Khalil Dokhanchi
Professor of Political Science, Department of Social Inquiry

Expertise:  Middle East; International Relations

 kdokhanc@uwsuper.edu

Campus telephone: 715 394 8484

Cell phone (optional): 218 348 7896

 

Dr. Virginia Donovan
Assistant Professor of French

Expertise: French and Francophone languages, literatures and cultures

 vdonovan@uwsuper.edu

Campus telephone: 715-394-8037


 


 




E

Dr. Martha Einerson
Professor and chair
Department of Communicating Arts

meinerso@uwsuper.edu

Telephone: 715-394-8077

  • Interpersonal Relationships
  • Conflict Management
  • Language in Communication
  • Women and Conflict in Higher Education Administration
  • Leadership Development
  • Management Communication 

 




 

Dr. Olawole Famule
Associate Professor, Art History and Fibers Structure
Department of Visual Arts

ofamule@uwsuper.edu

Telephone: 715-394-8379

Expertise: African and African Diaspora Visual Cultures-art history/ visual cultures of the Africans and African Diaspora in the Americas, Caribbean, Brazil, and others.

 

Tammy Fanning
Associate Dean of Students, Student Responsibility and Advocacy

Telephone: 715-394-8243

 tfanning@uwsuper.edu

Expertise: 

  • Student responsibilities and conduct
  • Working toward a career in student affairs
  • Counseling/helping skills
  • Advocacy for areas such as gender equity, women's issues, GLBTQAI community and students of color
  • Veteran student services
  • Team building 

 

 

 

 

Dr. Marsha Francis
Academic Coordinator, McNair Scholars Program

Expertise: Multicultural/ Diversity(cultural sensitivity and counseling), graduate school preparation

 mfrancis@uwsuper.edu

Telephone: 715-394-8088

 


G

Dr. Jim Geidner
Assistant Professor, Department of Health and Human Performance

Expertise:

  • Child Development
  • Early Childhood Education
  • Infant Mental Health
  • Early Childhood Mental Health

 jgeidner@uwsuper.edu

Telephone: 715-394-8390

Cell phone: 218-310-1693



 

Dr. Lois Veenhoven Guderian
 Assistant Professor of Music and Music Education Coordinator

Expertise: music education; choral music; music composition; music performance (piano, voice, choral); music research in various areas, especially creativity in music; interdisciplinary arts; choral historical

 lguderia@uwsuper.edu

Campus telephone: 715-394-9244




H

 

Sue Holm
Director, McNair Scholars Program

 sholm@uwsuper.edu

Telephone: 715-394-8093

Expertise:
Graduate School preparation, planning and enrollment



Sheryl Homan
Program manager, Continuing Education

Expertise: Continuing Education programs

Telephone: 715-394-8456

 shoman@uwsuper.edu

Website

 


J

Gary W. Johnson      
Director, First Nations Center
Assistant Professor of First Nations Studies

Expertise: American Indian issues, including education, politics, and history; diversity issues 

 gjohnson@uwsuper.edu 

Campus telephone: 715-394-8132

 

Dr. Marshall Johnson  
Professor of Sociology, Department of  Social Inquiry

Expertise:  China and Indonesia, Social Issues, Class and Economics

 mjohnson@uwsuper.edu

Campus telephone:  715-394-8039

 

Brett Jones
Assistant Professor of Percussion, Department of Music

Expertise: Music, Percussion

 bjones5@uwsuper.edu

Campus telephone: 715-394-8255



K

Christina Kline
Outreach Program Manager
Distance Learning Center

Expertise: Interdisciplinary Studies Major; Credit for Prior Learning, Sustainable Management, Health and Wellness Management

ckline@uwsuper.edu

Campus telephone: 715-394-8055

 

Dr. Wendy Kropid
Professor of English Education
Department of World Languages, Literatures and Cultures

 wkropid@uwsuper.edu

Campus telephone:  715-394-8240

Expertise: 

  • Literacy education
  • Middle level education
  • Teacher professional development

 


L

Susan Loonsk
Professor
Department of Visual Arts

Telephone: 715-394-8508

 sloonsk@uwsuper.edu

Expertise:

  • Ecopsychology 
  • Painting 
  •  Printmaking
  •  Art Therapy

 




M

Lisa Miller Mattsson
Outreach Specialist and Instructor
Center for Continuing Education

Expertise:
Ethical leadership

lmattsso@uwsuper.edu

Campus telephone:715-394-8013

Cell phone: 218-464-3177

 

Jenice Meyer
Director, Academic Service-Learning  and the
Gaining Early Awareness and Readiness in Superior (GEARS) Program

Expertise: Community and campus partnerships, academic service-learning, civic engagement

 jkienzle@uwsuper.edu

Campus telephone: 715-394-8332

Web page

 

 

Rick Moran
Senior Lecturer, Department of Business and Economics

Expertise: marketing, travel and tourism, entrepreneurship, small-business management

 rmoran2@uwsuper.edu

Campus telephone:715-394-8386

Cell phone:  612-817-9984

 

Donald Mulhern
Women's Basketball Coach
Instructor, Department of Health and Human Performance

Expertise:  Sport psychology, basketball 

dmulhern@uwsuper.edu       

Campus telephone: 715 395 4672


N

Steven E. Nelson
Athletic Director

Expertise: Yellowjacket sports, athletics, NCAA-related issues

 snelson@uwsuper.edu

Campus telephone:715-395-4619

 

Brent Notbohm
Associate Professor of Media

Expertise: Media; film history and criticism; film and video production

bnotbohm@uwsuper.edu

Campus telephone: 715-394-8269

 


O

 


 




P

 

Krisi Patterson
Assistant director of campus recreation

Expertise: Student development in fitness and wellness; sports and recreation programming

 kpatter1@uwsuper.edu

Telephone: 715-395-4611

 

Dr. Eleni Pinnow
Assistant Professor of Psychology, Department of Human Behavior, Justice and Diversity

Expertise: Psychology, specifically cognitive, learning and language

 epinnow@uwsuper.edu

Campus telephone: 715-394-8312

 

Kathy Pykkonen    
Director, Career Services 

Expertise:  Career, employment graduation stats, recruiting, human resources, interviewing, grad school, resume writing, salary negotiation, Strengths Quest, MBTI, SII, professionalism, personal branding, social media, etiquette training

Campus telephone: 715-394-8024

 kpykkone@uwsuper.edu


R

 

Ray Reinertsen
Senior Lecturer, Department of Health and Human Performance

Expertise: Wellness,  Change theory,  running, coaching, athletics

 rreinert@uwsuper.edu

Campus telephone:  715-395-4621

Cell phone (optional):  218-393-4984 

 

Tonya Roth
Director of Admissions

Expertise: Student recruitment, admissions, enrollment

 troth1@uwsuper.edu

Campus telephone: 715-394-8264

Cell phone: 218-390-9094


S

Dr. Deborah Schlacks
Professor of English
Coordinator of Writing Across The Curriculum

Expertise: Writing; Writing Across the Curriculum

 dschlack@uwsuper.edu

Telephone: 715-394-8235

 

Dr. Ralph Seelke
Professor of Biology
Department of Natural Sciences

Expertise: Genetics, microbiology, experimental evolution, faith-science issues

 rseelke@uwsuper.edu

Campus telephone: 715-394-8320

 

Dr. Kenneth L. Shonk
Assistant Professor of Social Studies
Department of Social Inquiry

Expertise:

  • History, including the history of Ireland; European history 1750-Present; history of the British and French empires; imperialism, colonialism and post-colonialism; history of Britain, France, Italy, Spain, Canada. history of rock and roll, especially punk, post punk, and alternative aock; history of cinema, contemporary American history, history of Africa and the modern Middle East.
  • Education
  • Social studies education
  • Gender studies (masculinity and sport, for example),
  • Social studies education, curriculum and curricular development, inquiry-based education, secondary education, teaching ESL students. 

kshonkjr@uwsuper.edu

Campus telephone: 715-394-8325

 

Dr. Zamira Simkins
Assistant Professor of Economics
Academic Department: Business and Economics

Expertise:

  • Macroeconomics
  • Economic development and growth
  • Political economy

 zsimkins@uwsuper.edu

Campus telephone: 715-394-8360

 

Dr. Joel Sipress
Professor of History, Department of Social Inquiry

Expertise: United States history in general; labor history and labor issues; race and ethnicity; economic policy; financial and monetary system

 jsipress@uwsuper.edu

Campus telephone: 715-394-8337 

Mark Spitzer
Assistant Professor of theatre
Communicating Arts Department

Expertise: Lighting and stage rigging for theatre productions

mspitzer@uwsuper.edu

Campus telephone: 715-394-8375




T

Dr. Shin-Ping Tucker
Associate Professor, Department of Mathematics and Computer Science

Expertise:  Web Design, Database, Business Computer Applications, and Information Technology and Systems

 stucker5@uwsuper.edu  

Campus telephone: 715-394-8466


 

V



Dr. Alisa Von Hagel
Assistant Professor, Political Science

Expertise: American government and U.S. politics; gender and politics; biomedical technology policy

 avonhage@uwsuper.edu

Campus telephone: 715-394-8354

 


Back to Top