Work of UW-Superior faculty and staff celebrated

Work of UW-Superior faculty and staff celebrated


The University of Wisconsin-Superior’s annual Faculty and Staff Recognition Program was held Monday, May 1, in the Yellowjacket Union and with a virtual option. Several faculty and staff being honored for their service and commitment to the university.

The Community Engagement Award was given to Michael Waxman, Natural Sciences Department assistant professor. This recognition is open to any employee of the university. Community engagement involves faculty, staff, and/or students and one of more community partners collaborating on projects that have both a positive social impact and support opportunities to conduct research or teach or encourage student learning. The recipient’s efforts will have made a significant impact on students and in meeting community identified needs.

Receiving Community Partnership Awards were Superior Choice Credit Union and Superior School District. This award is open to an agency, organization or business that has been an outstanding partner with UW-Superior.

Visual Arts Department Professor Tim Cleary received the Excellence in Scholarship/Creativity Award. This award is presented to any faculty or academic staff whose scholarly efforts have made a significant contribution to their field of study or area of practice.

Anne Robertson, Department of Education assistant teaching professor, received the High Impact Practices Excellence Award. This award is open to anyone whose teaching appointment is half time or more and who has displayed excellence in mentoring undergraduate researchers, encouraged excellence in writing development or fostered global travel or understanding.

Inclusiveness Awards were presented to Kathryn Guimond, director, and the Center for Continuing Education. This award is given for actions that consistently and visibly personify the spirit of diversity and inclusivity.

The Max H. Lavine Awards went to School of Business & Economics Associate Professor Sakib Mahmud. Given for scholarly contributions to contemporary concerns, this award is presented to a faculty member who has published a paper on a topic relevant to major problem areas in contemporary society.

The Outstanding Mentor Award went to TJ Oaks Yellowjacket head baseball coach. This recognition is for employees who have formally or informally demonstrated excellence as a mentor in encouraging and helping students to be successful.

David Potter, Department of Music assistant professor, collected the Rising Star Award. This honor is open to tenure-track faculty members yet to achieve tenure and is based on excellence in teaching, scholarship, and service.

Spirit of Superior Awards were presented to Tom Bergh, University Advancement gifts officer, and Brittany Hansen, Human Resources recruitment Specialist II. This award is given to individuals or departments who actively demonstrate and model on a daily and consistent basis, the values of UW-Superior and as a result are making a difference in the campus climate and the lives of those who work and study on campus.

The Students’ Choice for Outstanding Teaching in an Online Program Award was given to Sydny VanderVeen, Health and Human Performance Department senior lecturer. Based on student nominations, this award recognizes those providing instruction in programs fully online whose teaching promotes and exceptional learning experience.

Jayson Iwen, Writing, Language, and Literature Department chair and professor, was presented the Students’ Choice for Outstanding On-Campus Teaching Award. Based on student nominations, this award was established to recognize those whose teaching promotes an exceptional learning experience on campus.

Terry Plunkett, Business Office accountant III, and Aaron Yates, Technology Services Software Engineer/Developer II, were recipients of the Helping Hand Award. This recognition is open to anyone employed by the university whose work in helping others be successful in their work is exemplary.