UW-Superior and Time Arc Theatre present ‘1930s: An Evening of Live Radio Plays’

Posted on Jun 1, 2016

June 3 and 4 at 7:30 p.m. and June 5 at 2 p.m. in the Holden Fine and Applied Arts Center

The University of Wisconsin-Superior Theatre Department and Time Arc Theatre present, "1930s: An Evening of Live Radio Plays" on June 3 and 4 at 7:30 p.m. and June 5 at 2 p.m. in the Experimental Theatre, Holden Fine and Applied Arts Center, on the UW-Superior campus. Tickets are $15 and may be purchased at the box office in the Holden Fine and Applied Arts Center. The show is sponsored by Twin Ports Stage and Superior Lidgerwood Mundy Corporation.

Smartphones, WiFi and Bluetooth. Common words today that describe the technology that allows us to listen to radio anywhere at any time. But in the "Golden Age of Radio", people gathered in their living room to stare at a box that brought world news, popular music and their favorite drama or comedy program into their homes. The program, directed by UW-Superior alumni Kathy Laakso, features well-known radio shows such as Ellery Queen and Fibber McGee and Molly as well as, "Pittsburgh Lil" and "Sorry, Wrong Number." Laakso, who created a local history theatre nine years ago, has developed a new theatre, "Time Arc Theatre." She feels that live, history-based theatre is a great method of teaching modern audiences about the past.

"Back in the early days of radio, actors stood before microphones and read scripts during live broadcasts, and most sound effects were often created right there in the studio rather than prerecorded," Laakso said. "During our performance, we'll be using a mix of pre-recorded sound effects and live sound effects, with the audience watching how it was done."

Laakso looks forward to this new venture and a return to UW-Superior.

"Being an alumna of UW-Superior with a degree in theatre, I'll be working on familiar turf with some great people," said Laakso. "I thank the UW-Superior Theatre Department for the opportunity. I also have a great cast of actors who I've often worked with during the past nine years." The cast includes Jane Wester, Emily Purvis, Ric Stevens, John Center, Paul Waterman, Don Johnson, Cathy Podeszwa, Andrew Kirov, Matt Davey and Donn Hanson.

Laakso is thrilled to be a new board member of Twin Ports Stage, and as director of Time Arc Theatre, will continue to bring local history, as well as other genres, to the stage and work with other organizations in the area as well.

"I am a believer in life-long learning and want to be a part of creating positive opportunities for theatre artists of all ages in all aspects of theatre," she said.

News Contact: James Biros | jbiros@uwsuper.edu | 715-394-8023