Football - 1913

Induction Year: 2013

Football - 1913

In Wisconsin, intercollegiate athletics were primarily a post-Civil War phenomenon. This was true not only for the state's flagship campus, but also for the state teacher training institutions (normal schools) as well. Then, in 1913 the Inter-Normal Athletic Conference of Wisconsin was formally organized with eight schools among the charter membership - Whitewater, Oshkosh, River Falls, Milwaukee, Stevens Point, La Crosse, Eau Claire and Superior.

And in that first season of recognized conference play, the Superior Normal School Yellowjackets claimed the conference's first-ever football championship.

The Yellowjackets played a seven-game schedule - four games against high school programs and three against other normal schools, with only the normal school games counting in conference play. The Yellowjackets started the year by defeating the Two Harbors Alumni (6-0), Virginia High School (21-0) and Superior Central High School (62-0) and tying Ashland High School (7-7).

In the normal school portion of their schedule,they defeated Stevens Point Normal (83-0) and River Falls Normal (39-0) and tied Whitewater Normal (6-6) to end the year 5-0-2 (2-0-1 in normal school play), outscoring their opponents 224-13.

Ray Wehrle, Morgan Roberts, Rudolph Hanson, James Mungavin, John Connell and Bert Stanbury were all named to the All-State Normal Conference Team. 

Team Members

John Connell - quarterback

Gerald Doonan - left end

Alton Whiteney - right end

Morgan Roberts - right tackle

James Mungavin - right end

Bert Stanbury - right half

Russell Rill - Fullback

Thomas Brickley - right half

Earl Cowie - right end

Otto Reetz - left guard

William Donalds - left tackle

Ray Wehrle - center

Paul Williams - right guard

George Butler - left half

David Roberts - right guard

Frank Brown - left guard

Rudolph Hanson - right guard

George Anderson - left guard

Head Coach:
George Coogan