Football - 1962

Exceptional Year at 7-1-1

Football - 1962

Exceptional year with a record of 7-1-1

First Row L to R-: Coach Mertz Mortorelli, mascot Mickey Mortorelli, T. Nelson, D. Conway, J. Johnson, R. Daniels, G. Belmas, P. Dahlie, C. Callaway, B. Dodge, J. Brighenti, L. Royer, Coach Carl Vergamini

Second Row: L. Plaszcz, R. Koehler, J. Elsmore, T. Byrnes, J. Schweiger, M. Mahaffey, B. Good, R. Longhini, B. Deal, J. Dokes, J. McFaul, J. Scandin, R. Case

Third Row: T. Diskin, C. Norton, J. Armstrong, G. Ament, J. Bracket, G. Perkovich, J. Wester, J. Shiverski, J. Wachsmuth, B. Weiland, L. Zucollo, J. Conway, L. Carr, Coach Moselle

Fourth Row: Coach Perri, R. Cramer, D. Swingle, J. Hosking, R. Sandvick, M. Cheney, T. Brandy, L. Gunn, G. Zifko, B. Zimmerman, A. Kangas, W. Lodgaard, J. Block, D. Nelson, D. Nystrom, Coach Driessen


The 1962 Superior State College football team completed an exceptional year with a record of 7-1-1. This record ranked the Yellowjackets second in the tough WSCC. Seven Superior State football players were named to the WSCC All-Conference Team. The highlight of the season was a win over the University of Minnesota Duluth in the season opener.