Softball - 2002

Induction Year: 2011

NCAA Tournament Participant

Overall Record: 20-15

WIAC Record: 6-4


Head Coach: Roger Plachta

Assistant Coache: Mike Sylvester  

Team Members: Melissa Nelmark, Jamie Busche, Sarah Tarasewicz, Theresa Williams, Katie Beadles, Rachel Weimar, Abby Glawe, Anna Quilty, Shelly Stewart, Amanda Johnston, Jodi Irlbeck, Erika Olson


When UW-Superior hired Roger Plachta to take over the Yellowjacket softball program in 2000, it signaled a change in direction for the team. The program makeover came to fruition in 2002.

In just his second season, Plachta assembled a team and instilled a mentality that led the team to the top, as the Yellowjackets placed in the upper half of the conference in the regular season, finishing fourth. In the conference tournament, wins over UW-La Crosse, UW-Stout and UW-Eau Claire, who they defeated twice, gave the Yellowjackets the conference tournament championship for the first time in school history. 

The victory in the WIAC tournament also gave the Yellowjackets a berth in the NCAA tournament, making them the first women's team in the history of UW-Superior to qualify for NCAA play. There, they lost a pair of tough games in the NCAA regional, played in Tacoma, Washington.  

Consistent across the board, the Yellowjackets were ranked third in the WIAC in hitting and pitching. They led the conference in slugging percentage, as they had the conference leader in triples -- Melissa Nelmark -- and home runs -- Sarah Tarasewicz. On the mound, Amanda Johnston led the conference in innings pitched and strikeouts, and was among the league leaders in all pitching categories, including wins where she was one victory off the conference lead.  

Several players on the 2002 Yellowjackets also would be a part of the 2004 team, which was enshrined into the UW-Superior Hall of Fame in 2010.