Communicating Arts Scholarships

Ahlgren Journalism Scholarship. For undergraduate junior or senior students who have participated in radio, video production, or journalism activities. Students may or may not be majoring in the media concentration.

Alpha Psi Omega Scholarship. For an undergraduate sophomore, junior or senior of good academic achievement, financial need and proficiency in theatre.

Dorothy McKay Anderson Scholarship. For students in fine arts (art, music, communication, media, theatre) or English, preferably a graduate of a Superior or Duluth high school.

Pacey Beers Scholarship. For undergraduate students who are at least in their junior year but no further advanced academically than the first semester of their senior year, and who have completed at least two years of enrollment at UW-Superior. Students must major in theatre or music or both, have a minimum overall cumulative GPA of 2.5, and have a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.25 in their theatre or music major. Students shall have participated actively in any phase of the public performance activities of the theatre or music programs at UW-Superior.

Walter C. Bridges Scholarship. For students in media and communication who show academic merit and financial need.

Ted Garver Scholarship. For a student working 5 hours or more at KUWS and has a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher.

Graham Sisters Scholarship. For a distance learning student majoring in Communicating Arts.

Paul & Lucile Holden Scholarship. For students of academic merit majoring in the fine and applied arts or letters and social sciences in fields other than English and history.  Preference shall be given to incoming freshmen.

Katz Family Scholarship. For an upper-division student of academic excellence majoring in speech communication.

Clifford J. Lue Scholarship. For students majoring in mass communication, preferably incoming freshmen.

Dr. O. Gayle Manion Scholarship. For a full-time junior or senior student admitted to the Department of Communicating Arts.

Ben L. Munson Memorial Scholarship. For students pursuing a broadcasting career.

Kathryn Ohman Scholarship. For outstanding students in theatre.

Ivy Rose Weaver Scholarship. For a sophomore or junior technical theatre student in good academic standing who is majoring in theatre, has a GPA of 3.0 or higher, and will participate in all campus productions. First preference will be given to students interested in scenic design, technical direction or related background area, second preference for students interested in lighting or sound, and third preference for students interested in costuming.


Current students: Each winter, you will receive notification to your UW-Superior email account when it is time to apply for Foundation scholarships. Applications are typically due in early March and scholarships are awarded for the following academic year, beginning with the fall semester.

Incoming freshmen and transfer students: Upon admission to the university, you must complete the new student scholarship essay to be considered for a Foundation scholarship.You will be notified by mail and email if you have been awarded a Foundation scholarship.