Teacher Education Scholarships

Erika M. Banker Scholarship. For students in teacher education.

Teddi Briddell-Dimitri Scholarship. For a full-time female undergraduate junior majoring in elementary education with a 2.8 to 3.2 GPA.

Maurice L. Brown Scholarship. For students in teacher education.

Francis and Dolores DeVinck Scholarship. For full-time students majoring in education.

Elementary Education Scholarship. For new or continuing students in elementary education.

Lorraine M. and Marion E. Ellison Scholarship. For students majoring in teacher education.

Gus Frye Scholarship. Half of this annual scholarship is awarded to a student in the Distance Learning program and the other half to a student in teacher education.

John P. Guckin Memorial Scholarship. For upper-class students of good achievement preparing for careers in science teaching.

Dr. Samuel J. Guello Scholarship. For students in teacher education.

Rae Johnson Scholarship. For a full-time student majoring in elementary education.

Dorcas McPhail Johnson Scholarship. For incoming freshman students majoring in teacher education and having a minimum GPA of 3.0.

Edward and Betty Kossak Scholarship. For students enrolled full-time at UW-Superior who wish to pursue a career in working with persons with disabilities. The recipient must have a major in elementary education with a minor in adaptive education/special education along with pursuing a degree program and/or certificate to work with persons with disabilities. The recipient must be entering their undergraduate junior or senior year at UW-Superior, have a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.0 and show some level of financial need. The recipient must also include a paragraph in the scholarship application outlining their personal commitment to and involvement with persons with disabilities.

Mary Baron Lenroot Scholarship. For students in elementary education. William and Olga Munnings Scholarship. Awarded annually to four students: 1) An incoming student from Superior Senior High School; 2) A full-time undergraduate junior or senior student majoring in business and economics; 3) A full-time undergraduate junior or senior student majoring in teacher education; 4) A non-traditional student.

Mr. and Mrs. L. A. Nichols Scholarship. For students of academic merit, majoring in teacher education.

Richard and Ellen Oyaas Scholarship. For students majoring in elementary education.

Roger and Gloria Redding Educational Fund. For students attending UW-Superior who are pursuing a career in the teaching profession.

Marsha Russ Scholarship. For a non-traditional student of merit who is pursuing a degree in education.

Superior Area Retired Educators Association Scholarship. For undergraduate students in their junior or senior year majoring in education. Students must be a resident of Douglas County or southern St. Louis County (Duluth area) and have a strong academic background.


Current students: Each winter, you will receive notification to your UW-Superior email account when it is time to apply for Foundation scholarships. Applications are typically due in early March and scholarships are awarded for the following academic year, beginning with the fall semester.

Incoming freshmen and transfer students: Upon admission to the university, you must complete the new student scholarship essay to be considered for a Foundation scholarship.You will be notified by mail and email if you have been awarded a Foundation scholarship.