May 11, 2021

UW-Superior faculty and staff celebrated

The University of Wisconsin-Superior’s annual Faculty and Staff Recognition Program was held in a virtual format on Tuesday, May 4, with several faculty and staff being honored for their service and commitment to the university.

With the event falling on May 4, which each year prompts a flurry of “Star Wars”-themed messages on social media around the movie quote, “May the Force (4th) be with you, the event took on a lighthearted “Star Wars” theme this year.

The Community Engagement Award - Individual was given to Jon Garver, athletic communications and external relations manager. This recognition is open to any employee of the university. Community engagement involves faculty, staff, and/or students and one of more community partners collaborating on projects that have both a positive social impact and support opportunities to conduct research or teach or encourage student learning. The recipient’s efforts will have made a significant impact on students and in meeting community identified needs.

Earning the Community Engagement Award – Group/Team recognition was the COVID-19 Community Testing Team, which included Jordan Milan, Harry Anderson, Kristine Patterson, Nicholas Donahue, Donya Shehan-King and Sarah Libbon.

Receiving Community Partnership Awards was St. Luke's, Essentia Health and Cindy Freeberg and Kathy Ronchi from Douglas County Health & Human Services. This award is open to an agency, organization or business that has been an outstanding partner with UW-Superior.

Professor and Writing and Library Science Department chair Dr. Jayson Iwen received the Excellence in Scholarship/Creativity Award. This award is presented to any faculty or academic staff whose scholarly efforts have made a significant contribution to their field of study or area of practice.

Chantal Norrgard, assistant professor of first nations studies, received the High Impact Practices Excellence Award. This award is open to anyone whose teaching appointment is half time or more and who has displayed excellence in mentoring undergraduate researchers, encouraged excellence in writing development, or fostered global travel or understanding.

The Inclusiveness Award was presented to Jade Jensen, library services/public services supervisor, for actions that consistently and visibly personify the spirit of diversity and inclusivity.

The Max H. Levine Award went to associate professor of transportation & logistics management Dr. Daniel Rust. Given for scholarly contributions to contemporary concerns, this award is presented to a faculty member who has published a paper on a topic relevant to major problem areas in contemporary society.

Outstanding Mentor Awards went to Allison DeGroot, head women's soccer coach, and Julie O'Leary, Undergraduate Research, Scholarship, and Creative Activity program administrator. This recognition is for employees who have formally or informally demonstrated excellence as a mentor in encouraging and helping students to be successful.

Dr. Shanna Nifoussi, assistant professor of biology/pre-health collected the Rising Star Award. This honor is open to tenure-track faculty members yet to achieve tenure and is based on excellence in teaching, scholarship, and service.

Spirit of Superior Awards were presented to carpenter Wanda Grew-Jasken, human resources manager; Sarah Libbon, marketing manager; Dr. Ephraim Kotey Nikoi, associate professor of communication; and the Student Affairs team of Randy Barker MSE, LPC , Stacy Desmond, Mr. Kevin Lynch, Jenna Erickson, Lori Tuominen, Kristine Patterson, Nicholas Donahue, Donya Shehan-King, Allison Garver, Ethan Russom, Harry Anderson, Tammy Fanning, Jennifer Bird, Marissa Guillou, Ryan Kreuser, Michelle Foss, Melinda Yingling and Jay Revering. This award is given to individuals or departments who actively demonstrate and model on a daily and consistent basis, the values of UW-Superior and as a result are making a difference in the campus climate and the lives of those who work and study on campus.

The Students’ Choice for Outstanding Teaching in an Online Program Award was given to Tanya Skalecki, senior lecturer of educational administration. Based on student nominations, this award is meant for those providing instruction in programs fully online whose teaching promotes and exceptional learning experience.

Brent Notbohm, professor of film & video and Communicating Arts Department chair, was presented the Students’ Choice for Outstanding On-Campus Teaching Award. Based on student nominations, these awards were established to recognize those whose teaching promotes an exceptional learning experience on campus.

Marissa Guillou, assistant women's soccer coach, was the recipient of the Helping Hand Award. This recognition is open to anyone employed by the university whose work in helping others be successful in their work is exemplary.



You can unsubscribe at anytime