Affordable Textbooks Workgroup

Category: University

Year: 2020-2021

Committee Charge

The Committee investigates affordable textbook options for students as well as work with faculty on discovering options for their courses. The charge of the committee is to:

  • To provide information to faculty on options for affordable textbooks via vendors, open textbooks, bundling journal articles and Open Education Resources (OERS). 
  • To support faculty in creating affordable textbook options as a means to promote student engagement and success. 
  • To develop recommendations to share with administration for future options and possibly within programs adopt the option of textbooks being included in the credit costs for courses.
  • Provide a robust forum for the discussion of creative options to address the rising cost of textbooks and learning resources.


Director of Library and Digital Strategies (Chair): Jamie White-Farnham

Instructional Design/Digital Innovation (Co-Chair): Rebecca Graetz (2019-2022)

Library: Stephanie Warden (2019-2022)

Students (2): Giulia Martins (2019-2022), Amanda Forrestal (2019-2022),

Instructor Community: Rick Moran (2019-2022), Shanna Nifoussi (2019-2022), Kristin Riesgraf (2019-2022)

Department Chair/Program Director: Khalil (Haji) Dokhanchi (2019-2022)

Student Affairs/Advising/Marketing:  Monte Stewart (2019-2022)

Director of CETL: Jamie White-Farnham (2019-2022)

Bookstore: Vaughan Russom (2019-2022)