Category: University

Year: 2013-2014

Committee Charge

Promotion means looking back at a candidate's record of performance, and promoting the candidate in rank is based on merit. The Promotions Committee serves in an advisory capacity to the Dean of Faculties.

The Promotions Committee gives full and fair consideration to the candidate's promotion portfolio, as well as the candidate's departmental recommendation. The Committee then makes its promotion recommendation to the Dean of Faculties. The recommendation shall be based solely upon consideration of these two sources of information about the candidate and on the candidate's departmental criteria for promotion and the University standard for promotion.

The Promotions Committee will consist of five tenured faculty, three full professors and two associate professors (each serving a three year term). The associate level professors will rotate off the committee upon promotion to full professor. The membership of the Promotions Committee is established by Faculty Senate. The Promotions Committee will evaluate promotions at the associate and full level. All members of the committee are eligible to vote on applications to both associate professor and professor, except that a committee member shall not participate in discussion or vote on her/his own promotion.

Faculty promotion in rank is granted by the Board of Regents based on the positive recommendations of a candidate's department and the Chancellor.


Provost's Office (Convener)

Associate Professors: Kim Borst (2011-14), Mei Cao (2013-16)

Full Professors: Raychel Reiff (2011-14), Shaun Lynch (2012-15), Haji Dokhanchi (2012-15)