This information is for a previous academic year.
View the current (2020-2021) version of this Committee.

Strategic Planning Core Team (SPCT)

Category: University

Year: 2018-2019

Committee Charge

The Strategic Planning Core Team helps the university implement its mission, strive for its vision, and chart a course for the future.

To accomplish these goals, the Core Team:

  • Serves as the ambassador for current and future Strategic Plan
  • Communicates clearly and consistently the vision for the campus, and how the strategic plan is moving the University towards the vision
  • Advocates for funding to support the Strategic Plan to secure the future of UW-Superior
  • Provides continued monitoring and support of accreditation efforts
  • Monitors progress of the plan and adjust the tactical strategies, as needed, to meet these goals
  • Provides leadership for new Strategic Plans, ensuring integration of all on-going planning efforts

The Provost will convene and chair the SPCT.

When expert knowledge is needed for particular agenda items, individuals with such expertise will be invited to report and participate in discussion.

Members include: Provost/Vice Chancellor of Academic Affairs (Convener), Dean of Academic Affairs, Dean of Student Affairs, Senior Diversity Officer, Vice Chancellor of Administration and Finance, Vice Chancellor of Enrollment Management, Vice Chancellor of University Advancement, Accreditation Liaison Officer (ALO),

Director of Institutional Research and Sponsored Programs, Academic Staff (2; 1-instructional, 1-full time non-instructional), Faculty (2), University Staff (2), Student (2; 1-undergraduate, 1-graduate), Administrative Support (ex officio). Representatives are recommended by the Faculty, University Staff, and Academic Staff Senates for three year terms.


Provost/Vice Chancellor of Academic Affairs (Co-Chair): Maria Cuzzo (Interim) 
Dean of Student Affairs (Co-Chair): Harry Anderson 
Dean of Academic Affairs: Nick Danz 
Dean of Student Affairs: [Harry Anderson] Ethan Russom (Appointee during Dean of Student Affairs Co-Chair role) 
Senior Diversity Officer: Jerel Benton 
Vice Chancellor of Administration and Finance: Jeff Kahler 
Vice Chancellor of Enrollment Management: Brenda Harms (Interim) 
Accreditation Liaison Officer (ALO): Jenice Meyer 
Director of Institutional Research and Sponsored Programs: Emily Neumann 
Academic Staff (2; 1-instructional, 1-full time non-instructional): Scott Smith (instructional term ends June 30, 2021), Matt TenEyck (non-instructional term ends June 30, 2019) 
Faculty (2): Eleni Pinnow (term ends June 30, 2021), Ethan Christensen (term ends June 30, 2021) 
University Staff (2): DeLayna Herrick (term ends June 30, 2019), Jay Conley (term ends June 30, 2021) 
Student (2; 1-undergraduate, 1-graduate): Ines Benkhelfallah, [open]  
Administrative Support (ex officio): Laurel Eaton