This information is for a previous academic year.
View the current (2020-2021) version of this Committee.

Strategic Planning Core Team

Category: University

Year: 2015-2016

Related Website: Strategic Planning Core Team Website

Committee Charge

The integrated strategic planning process is designed to help the university implement its mission and chart a course for the future. Strategic planning that is aligned with the mission and drives the budget is essential and critical for continued growth and allows us to achieve our institutional priorities.

The Strategic Planning Core Team (SPCT) provides oversight, coordination, and campus leadership for strategic planning that aligns budget, assessment and planning to focus on the campus priorities and goals. The Core Team will:

  • Ensure that the development and implementation of strategic planning and budgeting are transparent, inclusive and streamlined.
  • Recommend both annual and long-term institutional priorities including those priorities related to our Mission and UW System's Strategic Priorities.
  • Ensure that the budget is aligned with the mission
  • Monitor, review, and assess progress on the plan to secure the future of UW-Superior.
  • Communicate progress to the campus community.

Members include: Provost/Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, Vice Chancellor for Administration and Finance, Dean of Faculties and Graduate Studies, Dean of Students, Vice Chancellor for Enrollment Management, Institutional Effectiveness, and Faculty member, University Staff, Academic Staff, and Student (recommended by the Senates).

The Provost will convene and chair the SPCT.

When expert knowledge is needed for particular agenda items, individuals with such expertise will be invited to report and participate in discussion.

Began work in Fall 2014.


Provost/Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs: Faith Hensrud (Chair)

Vice Chancellor for Administration and Finance: Gigi Koenig

Dean of Faculties and Graduate Studies: Liz Blue

Dean of Students: Harry Anderson

Vice Chancellor for Enrollment Management: Brenda Harms (Interim)

Institutional Effectiveness: Emily Neumann

Faculty member: Jerry Hembd (2014-17; Brett Jones replacement for Jerry during Summer 2015)

University Staff: Jay Conley

Academic Staff: Jenice Meyer

Student: Ben Damberg

Administrative Support: Amy Missinne