This information is for a previous academic year.
View the current (2020-2021) version of this Committee.

University Staff Senate (USS)

Category: University

Year: 2018-2019

Committee Charge

The University Staff Senate (USS) is charged with promoting a positive professional environment for all classified employees, support professional development activities, encourage informed communication among University Staff and within the broader University community, and serve as an advisor to the Chancellor and other University administrators.

Our mission is to work with University of Wisconsin-Superior (UWS) campus leadership to promote effective partnerships with colleagues from all campus employee groups in support of the university's mission. We serve as an advocate for University Staff as well as for their ongoing professional development opportunities. We do this by encouraging respect, open communication, and equality between all members of the campus community.

The USS Committee shall consist of nine (9) members. Each member will serve a three year term, with a maximum of two consecutive terms. If a Limited Term or Project Appointment staff member is elected to serve, the term will be appropriate to the employment appointment. Terms are staggered so that three [3] seats are open each year.


Chair: Mark Graves (2016-2019)

Secretary: Jami Koivisto (2018-2021)

UW System Representative: Mark Graves (2016-2019)

Brenda Engstrom (2016-2019)

Dorothy Frechette (2017-2020)

Trish Hegstrom-Olson (2017-2020)

DeLayna Herrick (2016-2019)

Lori Olson (2017-2020)

Kathleen O’Flanagan (2018-2021)

Donya Shehan-King (2018-2021)