This information is for a previous academic year.
View the current (2020-2021) version of this Committee.

University Studies Committee (formally known as: General Education Committee)

Category: Faculty

Year: 2018-2019

Committee Charge

The University Studies Committee provides oversight for the University Studies Program.  Its responsibilities include:  1) Review of proposed university studies courses for inclusion and placement within the program; 2) Coordination of university studies assessment and continuous improvement, including regular review of university studies offerings; 3) Development and maintenance of criteria for university studies courses and report criteria changes (or proposed changes) to the Undergraduate Academic Affairs Council (UAAC) and the Faculty Senate; 4) Review of other issues related to the University Studies Committee referred to the University Studies Committee by the UAAC and/or the Faculty Senate.  The University Studies Committee reports all of its recommendations to the UAAC.

To insure a healthy cross-section of University programs, the University Studies Committee would consist of eight people: one non-voting student member and seven faculty members from the following areas:
One Faculty (1) from Fine and Applied Arts (Visual Arts, Communicating Arts, Music, Writing)
One Faculty (1) from Humanities (First Nations Studies, History, Philosophy, WLLC (Chinese, English, German, Spanish)
One Faculty (1) from Social Sciences (Anthropology, Criminal Justice, Economics, Geography, Global Studies, Health and Human Performance, Legal Studies, Political Science, Psychology. Sociology, Women's Studies)
One Faculty (1) from Mathematics, Computer Science and the Natural Sciences
One Faculty (1) from Non-General Education Fields (Business, Education Leadership, Library Science, Reading/Language Arts, Social Work)
One Faculty (1) who teaches in the Diversity and/or Global Awareness Categories
One Faculty (1) from UAAC to act as liaison between the University Studies Committee and UAAC (These responsibilities preclude this faculty member from serving on any other University committees or councils.)
One non-voting student member of junior or senior status (1)
Provost or Designee (ex officio)
Registrar (ex officio)


Fine and Applied Arts: Greg Moore (2018-21)

Humanities: Hilary Fezzey (2017-20)

Social Sciences: [Open] (2018-21)

Math/CS/Natural Science: Steve Rosenberg (2017-20)

Non-General Education: Rubana Mahjabeen (2016-19)
Diversity/Non-Western: Joel Sipress (2016-19)

Core: Chad Vollrath (2018-21)

Student (1): Katja Nielsen

UAAC Liaison (1): [Open]

Provost or Designee (ex officio): Molly Smith
Registrar or Designee (ex officio): Janie Campbell