University Studies Committee (formally known as: General Education Committee)

Category: Faculty

Year: 2019-2020

Committee Charge

The University Studies Committee provides oversight for the University Studies Program. Its responsibilities include: 1) Review of proposed university studies courses for inclusion and placement within the program; 2) Coordination of university studies assessment and continuous improvement, including regular review of university studies offerings; 3) Development and maintenance of criteria for university studies courses and report criteria changes (or proposed changes) to the Undergraduate Academic Affairs Council (UAAC) and the Faculty Senate; 4) Review of other issues related to the University Studies Committee referred to the University Studies Committee by the UAAC and/or the Faculty Senate. The University Studies Committee reports all of its recommendations to the UAAC.


To insure a healthy cross-section of University programs, the University Studies Committee would consist of eight people: one non-voting student member and seven faculty members from the following areas:

One Faculty (1) from Fine and Applied Arts (Visual Arts, Communicating Arts, Music, Writing)

One Faculty (1) from Humanities (First Nations Studies, History, Philosophy, WLLC (Chinese, English, German, Spanish)

One Faculty (1) from Social Sciences (Anthropology, Criminal Justice, Economics, Geography, Global Studies, Health and Human Performance, Legal Studies, Political Science, Psychology. Sociology, Women's Studies)

One Faculty (1) from Mathematics, Computer Science and the Natural Sciences

One Faculty (1) from Non-General Education Fields (Business, Education Leadership, Library Science, Reading/Language Arts, Social Work)

One Faculty (1) who teaches in the Diversity and/or Global Awareness Categories

One Faculty (1) from UAAC to act as liaison between the University Studies Committee and UAAC (These responsibilities preclude this faculty member from serving on any other University committees or councils.)

One non-voting student member of junior or senior status (1)

Provost or Designee (ex-officio)

Registrar (ex-officio)


Fine and Applied Arts: Greg Moore (2018-21)

Humanities: Hilary Fezzey (2017-20)

Social Sciences*: Rubana Mahjabeen (2019-2020)

Math/CS/Natural Science: Steve Rosenberg (2017-20)

Non-General Education*: Rubana Mahjabeen (2019-22)Diversity/Non-Western: Joel Sipress (2019-22)

Core: Chad Vollrath (2018-21); Yvonne Rutford (2018-2021)

Student (1): Katja Nielsen

UAAC Liaison (1): Yvonne Rutford

Provost or Designee (ex-officio): Maria Cuzzo (Interim)

Registrar or Designee (ex-officio): Janie Campbell (Interim)

*The committee has decided to have Rubana Mahjabeen represent both the categories of Social Sciences and Non-General Education for the 2019-20 academic year only. The decision was made with the knowledge and consent of the Faculty Senate Executive Committee. Beginning in 2020-2021, two separate faculty members will represent those categories again.